NYSC Zoning – How it is Categorized

nysc zoning

First you need to know how the NYSC Zoning is categorized. This will guide you fully on the selection of desired State during NYSC Registration. Most PCMs get hooked up on this stage during registration due to insufficient information prior to NYSC registration.

First of all let’s talk about Geopolitical zones in Nigeria and how it affects NYSC Registration.

Geopolitical Zoning

There are 36 States in Nigeria divided into 6 geopolitical zones. NYSC  Zoning is the requirement by NYSC management Scheme for PCMs to select 4 States out of the 6 geopolitical zones during registration. This initiative is to promote unity and peace in the country among all tribes.

With this idea, one who is from the northern State can serve in SouthEast, SouthWest, SouthSouth and vice versa. At the end of the registration, NYSC management will randomly select one State among the four States you selected and that will be the state of your service.

The Six Geopolitical Zones

  • SouthEast

Also known as the East-Central consist of (5) States. They include Abia, Imo, Enugu, Anambra and Ebonyi State.


  • SouthWest

There are (6) States This includes_ Oyo, Ogun, Ondo, Osun, Lagos and Ekiti State.


  • SouthSouth

This is made up of (6) States. It includes the former Southeastern State i.e Akwa-Ibom and Cross River; and  mid-western Region that is Delta and Edo. It also includes Bayelsa and Rivers State.


  • Northeast

Six States which includes Yobe, Taraba, Gombe, Bauchi and Adamawa.


  • Northwest

There are 7 States namely; Jigawa, Zamfara, Sokoto, Kebbi, Kano, Kastina and Kaduna.


  • Northcentral

Also known as middle belt previously. It consists of Seven States namely; FCT, Nasarawa, Kwara, Kogi, Niger, Plateau and Benue State.


NYSC Zoning

This is the arrangement by NYSC Scheme for selection of Zones during Registration. It is grouped into (4) Zones.

  1. Northcentral Zone
  2. Southwest Zone
  3. Northeast/Northwest Zones
  4. Southeast/SouthSouth Zones

At the end of the registration, NYSC will deploy each PCM to any State among the selected (4) States.

Please endeavor to share this information on about NYSC zoning among fellow PCM or any PCM around you it is vital.

Be the first to comment